15 posts categorized "CHA Reviews"

August 31, 2010

Lots of New Goodies In Store

045bjpgThere is so much new stuff in store I don't even know where to start. I think today I'll begin with one of my favorite from CHA: Crate Paper's new collections.There are 3 new collections; Restoration, Snow Day, and School Spirit.  Christy made this card Crate Paper's Restoration line. Who wouldn't love getting this sweet hello? I think I might just find myself copying this great card.


BloomUp next is a frame I made using every paper from all 3 of Crate Paper's new lines; Restoration, School Spirit, and Snow Day. As you can see, not only are these lines great separately, but they work well together, too. The frame measures 12" x 12".  I'd love to make another one of these with Christmas ornaments instead of flowers.










The one thing these projects don't show you are my new favorite items from Crate Paper: Sew Brads. I just can't resist these pretty fabric brads:

Restoration sew brads

School spirit sew brads Snow day sew brads

August 02, 2010

Chicago & CHA Summer 2010

CHADay1Here it is...the first day of the show.  We're all waiting outside the doors until 10 am and they let us through to shop till our heart's content!!

This year, the summer show was the smallest show I've seen, however, that didn't mean that I didn't get giddy over the awesome new stuff I saw while I was there.

There are 2 companies that I haven't bought from before, that we will be carrying.  Tattered Angels and Flower Soft are two companies that had some fun product for card makers, as well as scrapbookers and paper crafters.  Neither of them are "new" companies but we did get their newer products for the store.  So, quite soon, you will be seeing Glimmer Mists and Chalkboard Mists from Tattered Angels.  You will also see the entire Flower Soft collection from Flower Soft.  This is some really cool stuff, and it really doesn't do justice just by seeing it in pictures.  It gives your projects a fun 3-D flower petal-y look.  And the cute, fuzzy animals you can create!!  And the most beautiful grass and trees!!  Oh my!!

Of course, I purchased from all of your favorites like Pink Paislee, Bella Blvd, Jillibean Soup, Basic Grey, Echo Park, Making Memories, Bo Bunny and the list goes on and on!

I have posted pictures on the store's Facebook Page as well as our Flickr page if you would like to see just some of the products we found at the store.  I have a bunch more pictures of projects, layouts, etc but I'll save those for another day.

It seems like the thing to do after CHA is to talk about your favorite thing from the show.  Seriously girls, I'm a total scatterbrained when it comes to picking any favorites.  I love it ALL!!  LOL  But, if I had to:

SizzixEclips Tools - Sizzix Eclipse machine.  I spent a half hour video-taping one of the developers showing me how it worked.  I saw it at CHA Winter and was impressed, but this time, they had a lot of the bugs worked out, plus they have so much cool stuff coming down the pipeline.  Lots of the questions I asked about if it could do..."well, not yet, but it's in the next update," is what I heard.  I'm very excited about that.  As most of you know, I love my Cricut machine.  I love my machine, I just don't like the way Provo Craft treats their small retailers (like me).  So, if you were on the fence about an electronic diecut machine, seriously look at the Sizzix machine.  Like I said, I have about 30 minutes of video on that machine, and will work on getting that uploaded sometime this week if I can.

Tools - Cri-kit gel pens & Embosser for the Cricut Machine.  I love this new company that has a cool looking holder for magnetic gel pens and embosser tips.  This will add another level to the things you can do with your Cricut.

Tools - New Glitter - I found the most AWESOME new glitter company!  The glitter is so ultra-fine, it goes on so smooth, that it feels like a regular piece of paper once you've burnished the glitter on the paper.  There are so many colors too!PPOldSchoolDoodads

Embellishments - Doodlebug's Boutique Buttons will be a sure hit and I'm getting at least one of each color!!  They are so cool in the Doodlebug colors, and I love the little details around each button.  These are a MUST HAVE in everyone's toolbox!

 Embellishments - Pink Paislee's little Doodad stickers were so fun!!  Pink Paislee's site says this about them:  "What-nots, thingamajigs...or just doodads! These new layered felt embellishments are die cut and stacked for added dimension. We even added a printed sticker and some bling."  Let me just tell you this..Ican't WAIT to get these in my hot little hands!

Embellishments - Maya Road trims.  Maya Road again hit the nail on the head when it comes to exquisite trims.  Their pleated ribbon is just beautiful!

Paper Collections - October Afternoon's Modern Homemaker.  How did they know that on my list for this CHA was a kitchen collection?  Now...there were others with kitchen collections too (namely Little Yellow Bicycle and Doodlebug, which of course was ordered too) but October Afternoon was modern yet retro all in the same breath.  With some fun chipboard and stickers, this one will fly off the shelves once we get it in!

CratePaperSnowDayChip Paper Collections - Crate Paper's Snow Day.  I know, I know, I know.  EVERYONE's talking about Restoration.  And believe me, it is beautiful!  But for me, my heart just melts for Snow Day!  I just love the bright winter colors, the adorable snowmen, and this pile of CHIPBOARD!!!  I just want to run my fingers through the chipboard and fondle it.  It's just so PRETTY! 

Paper Collections - Bella Blvd One Fall Day.  Now, I won't deny that I am one of Bella Blvd's biggest fans, I've been selling their paper since their debut collection.  But be still my heart...i LOVE One Fall Day!!  The colors are so beautiful, and the cute adorable little trees in this collection are just perfect for those pictures in the leaves or even a quick trip to the pumpkin patch (gasp....did I say that word out loud?  It can't be close to pumpkin time already right?)

so, now, like I said, I really love going to CHA to see all the new goodies the industry has provided us to keep our memories safe and colorful and meaningful all at the same time.  I get so excited around this time of the year, because it's so much fun to plan the pictures that I am saving for that perfect paper.  Then, lo and behold, my friends in the industry do me proud and make the most perfect paper for my pictures!  And if not...if the paper's cute enough...I'll pose a picture just to use the paper!  LOL  Yup...I said that out loud!  LOL

The products are starting to trickle in already, and I've already gotten 2 UPS tracking numbers.  Most product will start shipping mid-August through September.  The Christmas lines, etc will start shipping around October.  Remember to watch our NEW PRODUCTS section of the store to see what's new!

July 26, 2010

CHA Summer 2010 Here we Gooooooo!

BrokenLens It's here again...this crazy week where the industry gets together to show off all their new goodies.  Where I get to shop for all the fun stuff to carry in the store, learn some new techniques to show off at our classes, and hopefully meet up with some friends!

We were about 20 minutes delayed from leaving Omaha tonight because O'Hare's traffic control was a little hairy so we had to wait a bit before leaving.  Then, when we did finally get to leave, we had to wait another 20 minutes after landing because they didn't have an open gate for us to unload in.

I have never flown into Chicago's O'Hare airport and man, it is a huge place!  Very busy, and let me say...I think I prefer LAX in Los Angeles.  It seems a bit more easily navigated to me.  Although it was easy to find my baggage and I walked right onto the hotel shuttle.  5 minutes later I was in the hotel and another 5 minutes later in my hotel room.  So I have to say that was much nicer than the hour shuttle trip to the hotel in Anaheim!  :)

I'm not too crazy impressed with United though.  Because it was a "short" trip on an Express flight, they had a smaller plane.  Unfortunately that means there's not much room in the overhead compartment.  So, they asked if I could check my carryon bag.  No problem really, but I told them I had my laptop, my Nikon camera, and my camcorder in there.  They told me to grab my laptop out.  Which I did...unfortunately, when I got to my hotel and started unpacking my bags, I find out that the lens on my Nikon DSLR camera is shattered.  S H A T T E R E D.  So...now what to do?  I tried out the camera tonight and it works, but now I'm gonna have to call United tomorrow to see what we can do.  :( 

Of course, this is the trip where I decide to leave my small camera behind 'cuz it didn't get used much last time.  OK everyone...I'm getting sleepy and I have 2 long days ahead of me.  I will try to post as much as I can on Facebook, Twitter, and even to the Flickr page whenever I can. 

April 07, 2009

American Crafts Zing Embossing Powders

I was out and about blogland this morning, and saw an awesome new video from American Crafts about their Embossing Powders.

Notice how they work on VERY detailed stamped images, and the glittered embossing powder is to die for!!  I did play with them a while back and was very very happy with the way they turned out!

We carry the entire line of American Crafts Embossing Powders in the store.  You can check them out HERE.


April 01, 2009

Help! I'm covered in boxes!

MMJustChillinBoySpiralJournal WOW!  So much to cover in one little blog post.  :)

OK, so I want to quick say a HUGE THANK YOU to Jessica D who was our first ever Design Team member strictly for our Card Kits.  She did a phenomenal job, and I was so sad that her time here at AWDML had come to a close.  She can still be found at her blog though, so if you'd like to see some amazing stamping designs, head on over there!

Next up, I want to say a HUGE THANK YOU to all of our customers here at AWDML.  We had a phenomenal response to our month long celebration here at the store, and all I can say is you guys ROCK!  :)  I am so blessed to be able to do what I love, and meet some very cool people along the way.

So...today is April 1.  And, no foolin', it's my birthday.  Yup...36 years ago I was brought into the world and it hasn't been the same for my parents ever since.  You see, I was their first...poor people!  LOL  I must not have been too bad a kid 'cuz they had 3 more after me!  :)

But, I'm sure you're not here to hear about my birthday, you wanna hear what is going on here at the store!  Sooo much to talk about!

**  New goodies in the store are arriving almost daily the way it seems!  My mom comes to the shop once a week for a day and all we do is put product away, count it, mark it, and list it for sale here on the webstore.  My mom hasn't been in for a couple of days again, and I'm seriously lost in product!  So many good things just arriving or on their way soon, that I see brown cardboard boxes in my dreams!  We've just got in the new Heidi Swapp Invisibles (click on this link to see the review and video of Heidi Swapp at CHA).  We also received the Making Memories Just Chillin' collections for both boy and girl.  And, can I just say...these are sooo much better in person.  The web version of these things just do NOT do them justice!  Also, the WeR Memory Keepers MVP and Tiffany's lines are here.  If you have a sports fan, you NEED to check out the MVP stuff.  It is just too cool.

**  April brings another FEATURED MANUFACTURER....and this month's manufacturer is one of my all time favorites (which is why I chose it for my birthday month)!!!!  This company has a wide variety of goodies including brads, buttons, 6x6 paper pads, collection packs, papers, chipboard albums, ribbon, stamps...ooooo scrappy heaven!!  Basic Grey has been a scrapper's staple for quite a few years now, and we have got a HUGE selection of almost 500 products here at the store.  Because they are our featured manufacturer, EVERYTHING is 15% off by Basic Grey!!

**  Classes are being scheduled for April, with tomorrow night's Cricut 101 class kicking off the month.  We have 2 spots available for this class, so if you can make it, it's definitely worth the time to learn all about the Cricut machine.  We have another scheduled for April 16 at 10:30 AM and have 1 more spot available.  We're also finishing up a Basic Grey card/stamping class that we'll hold here at the store on Saturday, April 18 at 12:30.  More information on that class will be on the website and in the newsletters.

**  Monthly kits are being photographed this afternoon so you'll be able to check out our last monthly collection kit, as well as check out the new card kit and Copic Marker set tonight.

March 09, 2009

It's Monday...that means a new shipping special & more!

ShippingSpecial It's another March Monday...know what that means?

That means we've changed our Shipping Special once again!  Because it's our 6th year of being your online scrapbook and stamping store, we're offering different shipping specials throughout the month!

This week's shipping special is $5 flat rate shipping and FREE shipping on orders over $60.

Along with shipping specials, we've got LOADS going on this month!

Check out our NEW PRODUCTS to see all of the new CHA release goodies like Pink Paislee, Chatterbox, Cosmo Cricket, Jenni Bowlin and sooo many more!  There are currently 675 products that we have added to the store within the last 30 days.  And there is much more to come!

I've received shipping notices from Bo Bunny and Making Memories already.  Heidi Swapp, Just Rite Stampers, and We R Memory Keepers should be shipping out this week as well! 

We've moved some items over to our clearance section here at the store too....25% off selected Sassafras Lass and all Tinkering Ink papers.  PLUS, 40% off ALL Adorn It papers!

You'll want to check those out, as they won't last long at that price!

March 06, 2009

There is officially NO MORE ROOM!

CCSnorkelUmbrellas Oh boy girls....I think I have officially ran out of room.  There is just no more room here at the store for any more new goodies!!!  It's full.  For those of you who have been to the store, you know what cramped quarters we were in already back in October when we moved.  Well...now we've got CHA stuff coming weekly, and boy oh boy, we're just stuffed! 

We have boxes and boxes of new CHA stuff waiting to be put in their proper areas...so, I thought before putting them away, I'd show them all off to you!

To the left, you'll see the Umbrellas paper from the new Cosmo Cricket Snorkel Line.  Of course, we also brought in Girl Friday and Ever After from Cosmo Cricket.  Look for matching ribbons, rubons, chipboard and a new Blackboard album as well!

LYBBabySafariBoy6x6Paper Next up is Little Yellow Bicycle...oh man, just looking at these new collections make me wanna have a baby, just to be able to use some of these beautiful things!  Seriously, so many beautiful things...where do I start?  On the right, you see the ultra-cool 6x6 paper pad for boys (and of course we have it in girls as well).  This paper pad has diecut 6x6 shaped papers that fit exactly on their 6x6 chipboard album.  Can it get any easier than that?  Plus, there are matching stickers, rubons, glittered paper, varnished paper, diecut paper, and the most beautiful transparent fPPEnchantingDeliciousrames and titles you've ever SEEN!

 Pink Paislee is here as well.  They have come up with a most gorgeous line that didn't scream Pink Paislee when I first saw it...but the closer I looked, the more beautiful it became.  They now have matching brads and fabric flowers to each collection and they are just to die for.  Such beautiful colors and textures that you can add to your pages and cards so very easily now!

For you stampers and Ali Edwards fans, we've added Technique Tuesday stamps to our lineup.  We've chosen a few stamps, along with some Ali Edwards stamps to start our Technique Tuesday selection.  I'm sure these won't last long, as we just got a sampling of their line, but never fear....more will be on their way soon!

March 02, 2009

Can you say.......430?!?

I've just got done uploading 430 new products to the store this morning!!  Holy cow!  :)

I have them all uploaded, now I'm working on adding photos, etc.

Amongst the 430 new products are:

March's collection kit called "He Said" with Basic Grey and Crate Paper collections.  LOTS of unique embellishments here!

March's card kit called "So Spring".  Need I say more?  Doodlebug goodness with flocked paper, glitter paper...YUMMY!

March's Copic marker kit to match the March card kit.  I am waiting for my BG000 to come in, so I'll upload the picture of the markers when they're all in.  But trust me, when I tell you these are GAWGEOUS!

OK, other stuff??

**  American Crafts albums, Backyard collection, Craft Fair collection of papers, flair, embellishments, etc.

**  American Crafts embossing powders in a TON of different colors and finishes.  Soooo pretty how these work beautifully in really detailed stamps!

**  Wall vinyl BY THE FOOT!  Do you have an electronic diecut machine that you'd like to make wall words with?  Well, now we've got a bunch of colors that you can purchase by the foot.  It's removable, safe for walls, and it has a beautiful matte finish.

**  Daisy Bucket papers, stamps and chipboard pieces!

**  Fiskars tools like the NEW border punches and the acrylic stamps to match their punches!

**  Heidi Grace Sweetest Bug papers and embellishments

**  Hero Arts 2009 Acrylic stamps & Idea Book

**  Jenni Bowlin Farmer's Wife papers along with some fun new embellishments

**  Kaiser Crafts papers and a funky bling alphabet stickers

**  Making Memories albums & page protectors

**  Maya Road new Maya Mist colors, chipboard albums, keychains

**  Memento Markers to match the Dew Drops ink pads

**  Midnight Oil Scrapbook Designs Build A Book in SHAPES!

**  Our Craft Lounge stamps

**  Pebbles, Inc papers, cardstock stickers, and glittered chipboard

**  Some new stamping tools from Tsukenko

So, head on over to the store and click on NEW PRODUCTS to see what is NEW NEW NEW!

We've also just got in Pink Paislee, Little Yellow Bicycle and have shipping tracking numbers for more this week!

February 20, 2009

Something NEW is coming to the store!

ZingPlanogramOct08 For those of you who are online customers, you haven't seen the new stamping tool wall here at the B&M store.  Well, we've added some new stamping tools to the store lately, and will be uploading them to the online store soon!

For anyone who has ever tried wet embossing, you know how frustrating it is to have your embossed image not come out "just right".

Well, never fear!  American Crafts has listened to your thoughts and has come out with an AMA-ZING line of embossing powders.  There is an opaque finish, Metallic finish, neon colors, and even a glitter finish to their embossing powders! 

These are really awesome powders, and work even on the most detailed of stamped images.

I'm feeling a cold coming on today, so I doubt I'll be up to doing any tutorials this weekend, but that is on the top of my list to get started next week!

February 11, 2009

Attention STAMPERS! New goodies in the store!!

PennyBlackZoophabe1 Ohhhh, stampers....come quick!  You'll want to see ALL of the new goodies that have been shipped to the store here at A Walk Down Memory Lane!

We have some favorites like Penny Black (I've owned some of these myself, but I finally am able to offer them here at the store), Unity Stamp Company, The Greeting Farm, are just 3 of the new companies I've uploaded to the store the past couple of days.

These stamps are just too cool!  With lots of new images, but some new sayings as well.

Here you can see on the left is a sample of the Penny Black Zoophabet stamp set.  This alphabet set is not your "ordinary" alpha.  This one has cool little animals and characters designed in with the letters.  This set is extremely hard to find online, and is sold out all over the place, but we have some HERE!

Have you heard about Unity Stamp Company yet?  These are some awesome little stamps that you can get either unmounted, or mounted on their signature mounts.  We have a mix of both, but have found that you don't "need" to get the mount for the stamps that come mounted on a slim wood base.  This base is sturdy enough that you can stamp with that alone.  OR you can get some of their images in pre-cut, cling-mounted form.  Which, you can obviously use with any of your acrylic blocks.